## **Ordinance IV**

## **Titles of Degrees and Conditions of Award**

(This version is effective from 27 March 2009 to 31 July 2010)

•		
1.	Foundation degrees shall be designated as follows:	
	Foundation Degree in Arts	FdA
	Foundation Degree in Science	FdSc
	Foundation Degree in Engineering	FdEng
2.	First degrees shall be designated as follows:  Bachelor of Technology	B.Tech.
	Bachelor of Science	B.Sc.
	Bachelor of Arts	B.A.
	Bachelor of Education	B.Ed.
	Bachelor of Library Studies	B.L.S.
	Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Engineering	B.Sc., B.Eng.
	Bachelor of Technology, Bachelor of Engineering	B.Tech., B.Eng.
	Bachelor of Engineering	B.Eng.
	Master of Engineering	M.Eng.
	Master of Mathematics	M.Math.
	Master of Physics	M.Phys.
	Master of Chemistry	M.Chem.
	Master of Computer Science	M.Comp.
	master of computer science	M.Comp.
3.	Master's degrees shall be designated as follows:	
	Master of Philosophy	M.Phil.
	Master of Science	M.Sc.
	Master of Arts	M.A.
	Master of Business Administration	M.B.A.
	Master of Design	M.Des.
	Master of Research	M.Res.
4.		
	Doctorates shall be designated as follows:	
	Doctor of Philosophy	Ph.D.
	Doctor of Engineering	Eng.D
5.		

Higher Doctorates shall be designated as follows:

Doctor of Technology	D. Tech.
Doctor of Science	D.Sc.
Doctor of Letters	D.Litt.
Doctor of the University	D.Univ

The Degree of Doctor of the University may only be awarded as an Honorary degree of the University.

- 6. In order to qualify for admission to a substantive degree of the University other than the degrees of Doctor of Technology, Doctor of Science, Doctor of Letters, Doctor of the University, and those Honorary Degrees referred to in paragraph 7 of this Ordinance, every candidate other than a member of the staff of the University (for whom regulations shall be prescribed in accordance with Ordinance III.1.6) must have
  - (i) paid the prescribed fees
  - (ii) complied with such other Ordinances and Regulations as may be relevant.
- 7. The following awards may be conferred as Honorary Degrees upon individuals approved by Senate and Council: Higher Doctorates Bachelor of Science Bachelor of Arts

(remade March 2009)